Delicious Phrases

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I was, once. June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — deliciousphrases @ 5:14 am

There was a time when I was…

Worthy of more than just your scorn.

Valued more than your grandmother’s faded linens.

Someone who had something to say.

Relevant.

Now I sit and wonder what it all means.

Why the earth seems to revolve without care for me?

What does a man measure his worth by?

A faded photograph of you, collecting dust, shoved in a drawer

Under a silk bandana.

Yours, I think.

I mattered to you, didn’t I?

Significant?

I was, once.

                                                    .EB

 

One Response to “I was, once.”

  1. EP Says:

    Ah. Haunting. You know, if you keep this up, you may even inspire me to start writing again…A writer I was, once.


Leave a Reply

